Latest LA Science Education News

LASER Newsletter

  Read the April 2018 issue of the LASER for up-to-date Louisiana Science Education News!   LASER Newsletter Archives  

2018 Joint LATM/LSTA Conference: Call for Proposals

2018 LATM/LSTA Joint Math Science Conference Extended Session/Field Experience Proposals for Monday, October 22 Interested presenters may submit a proposal for a 3 hour or a 6 hour session or field experience to be held Monday, October 22, 2018. Presenters must provide all equipment (computers, LCD panels, internet access, and other items)needed for their presentation. To submit an online Extended Session/Field […]

Call for Concurrent Session (1hr) Proposals

LATM/LSTA Concurrent Sessions (1hour) Proposal Form Proposals for 1-hour concurrent sessions to be held on TUESDAY and/or WEDNESDAY, October 23rd and 24th, 2018 are now being accepted. Proposals must be submitted via the online form by August 6, 2018. The Lead Presenter and Co-presenter(s) listed in this proposal must be registered for the conference. Registration should be completed by the Early Bird […]

2018 LATM/LSTA Joint Conference

Save the Date for Full STEAM Ahead 2018 LATM/LSTA Joint Conference October 22-24, 2018 Shreveport Convention Center Shreveport, LA Short Course (Extended Session) or Field Trip Proposal Information     Deadline:  June 8, 2018 Concurrent (1 hr) Session Proposals Information     Deadline:  August 6, 2018  

Accepting 2018 PAEMST Nominations

Closes April 1, 2018…. The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. Since 1983, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for […]

2017 LSTA Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2017 LSTA Award Winners!   Essie Beck “Rising Star” Science Education Award (Award sponsored by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) Megan Luke Caldwell Middle School, Schriever, LA Outstanding Elementary School Science Teacher of the Year (Award sponsored by Pearson) Rosie Loftis Werner Park Elementary, Shreveport, LA   Outstanding Middle School Science Teacher of the Year Alisha Capstick N. P. Trist Middle […]

Quality Science and Math Applicaitons Round Two!

Are you a PUBLIC School Teacher?  Do you have a concept you would like to teach but don’t have the materials? HELP is on the way! The QSM Competition will Enter Round Two of Awards!  The Portal IS NOW OPEN and closes at Midnight, Monday November 13, 2017! Go to and login using your email address and a password you develop!  […]

LSTA Awards

The LSTA Science Education Awards are presented by the Louisiana Science Teachers Association, an affiliate of the National Science Teachers Association. These awards are bestowed in the categories listed below at the annual conference. Click on each of the award titles for the nomination/application form. Awards Deadline:  October 9, 2017 Outstanding Science Teacher Essie Beck “Rising Star” Claudia Fowler Distinguished […]

President’s Message

Greetings! What a great time to be a science educator in Louisiana! Having attended the Teacher Leader Summit this past week in New Orleans, the demand for information regarding the new science standards was obvious. All sessions offered regarding the science standards were overflowing with educators trying to learn and understand the shifts that the standards demand. If you were unable to attend […]

2016 LSTA Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2016 LSTA Award Winners! Essie Beck “Rising Star” Science Education Award Sophia Crook Andrew Jackson Middle School, Chalmette, LA Outstanding Middle School Science Teacher of the Year Kylie Martin Bayou Blue Middle School, Houma, LA Outstanding High School Science Teacher of the Year Kris Clements Caddo Parish Magnet High School, Shreveport, LA Distinguished Informal Science Education Award Alma Robichaux […]